Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Fancy Nancy

How do you put those two topics in the same title?

A dear friend of mine recently found out her youngest has Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, an uncommon and fatal degenerative disease that affects mostly boys. Darcy McCain is only four years old.

Darcy MaCain

I can’t write about Darcy’s prognosis without crying. Some amazing people – friends, neighbors and community members have come together to raise funds to make Darcy’s home wheelchair accessible and to contribute toward therapies not funded by Canada’s national health insurance. At the end of the month they’ll hold an auction of art, gift items, vacation home stays, dinners out, etc. My little contribution from afar is a couple of Fancy Nancy dress up skirts and trinkets in matching drawstring bags. Here’s a photo of the first ones I ever made as birthday gifts for Coco’s twin friends’ fifth birthday.

Fancy Nancy dress up skirts

I’d be happy to make a skirt for anyone who contributes $50 or more to the cause. They’re a huge hit with little girls who love all things twirly, shiny and lacy.

I can’t get the pretty Paypal button to work for some reason but you can donate here.
Email me with your receipt to request a skirt!

About divaskychick

Mom, wife, skydiver, rock climber, juicer, crafter and fan of wicked scary zombie novels.
This entry was posted in Darcy McCain, Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Fancy Nancy

  1. Erin Greene says:

    Hi, my name is Erin Greene. I, too, know the pains of Duchenne’s Muscular Dystrophy, as I’ve been watching my cousin Logan get worse and worse as the years go by. He is only about 10 now. I am starting a website, scheduled for it’s Grand Opening in two days, to raise money to support Duchenne’s children and their families, by direct donations and selling handmade crafts such as sewing projects, crochet, beadings, and things of the like. I’d be very interested in adding a page about Darcy, if your friend is willing to contribute some information about how the Duchenne’s has progressed so far, and how it has affected their lives, because one article about one child is not nearly enough to gain the attention that this matter needs, and unfortunately, I haven’t found a single case where a Duchenne’s patient’s family was able to get very far working alone. The goal of my site is to bring families of Duchenne’s patients together, because support from people going through the same thing is much more valuable than monetary donations, although obviously my site will collect these as well, to be split for use to cover medical expenses and to go toward research. It will take time to build up, but if we join together in this battle, I know it can be done! Also, if you wish to contribute to the crafts on my site after it opens, I’d be really grateful. I’m willing to work with any gifted crafters, paying if necessary if their price is reasonable, but hopefully they will do this from the goodness of their hearts. Thank you for your time, and I hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

