Seven Projects in Seven Days

I’m in craft heaven right now. I’m right on track for my seven projects goal but wouldn’t you know we’re having a favorite dinner guest over tonight and I’ve no time to blog.

Instead, I’ll just show you this, which came in the mail yesterday. It’s all ironed and organized and I can’t wait to get Coco to model today’s project.

12 Days of Christmas Cotton Fat Quarter Bundle Kate Spain for Moda Fabrics

I’m like a kid in a candy shop. I’ve got so many ideas and plans for this fabric that I have to keep myself focused. Like right now, I have to make dinner, quick!

Here’s what’s cooking.

Wheat Berry and Barley Salad with Smoked Mozzarella

1 cup wheat berries
1 cup pearl barley
1 small red onion, chopped fine
2 garlic cloves, minced and mashed to a paste with 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil (preferably extra-virgin)
6 scallions, chopped fine
1 1/2 cups cooked corn (cut from about 2 large ears)
1/2 pound smoked mozzarella cheese, diced fine
1 pint vine-ripened cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup chopped fresh chives

Into a kettle of salted boiling water stir wheat berries and cook at a slow boil 30 minutes. Stir in barley and cook grains at a slow boil 40 minutes.

While grains are cooking, in a large bowl stir together onion, garlic paste, vinegar and oil.

Drain grains well and add to onion mixture. Toss mixture well and cool. Add scallions, corn, mozzarella, tomatoes, chives, and salt and pepper to taste and toss well.

Salad may be made 1 day ahead and chilled, covered. Bring salad to room temperature before serving

This recipe was featured in Gourmet Magazine back in 1994. Yummmmm.

About divaskychick

Mom, wife, skydiver, rock climber, juicer, crafter and fan of wicked scary zombie novels.
This entry was posted in 7 Projects in 7 Days, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven Projects in Seven Days

  1. Emily Gordon says:

    I ate this–for dinner and for lunch the next day thanks to Mandy’s thoughtful Tupperwaring of a portion for me–and I LOVED it. I salted it slightly because it made the tomatoes a little tangier.

Leave a Reply

