Your Daily Juice – with Jalepeno

I’m a member of Raw Food Rehab, an online community of people who are at various stages of moving to a healthier, organic and mostly raw diet / lifestyle. Penni Shelton is their queen and she’s evangelical but in the best way possible. She walks the walk. She’s the founder, developer, head cheerleader, recipe guru, organizer, extraordinary gift giver and whatever else needs doing in that castle. There’s an enormous amount of knowledge over there and I’ve only just scratched the surface.

Penni has written a bunch of books to help guide people in their raw journey. On Foodie Fridays she shares new recipes that make you believe one could possibly live without pasta, bread and cheese. Well maybe not cheese. No one has convinced me of that.

Today’s juice is adapted from her “Sweet Hot & Green.”

Jalepeno, Celery, Apples, Cucumber, Kale

In Juicer:
4 Red Apples
4 Stalks Celery
Large Handful Spinach
Handful Wheatgrass (if you have fresh)
1 Cucumber
1 Jalepeno (or less, depends on what you can take!)

Add to Blender:
Handful of Ice
1/4 Avocado
1 TSP Wheatgrass Powder (if you don’t have fresh)

I had fresh kale instead of spinach. I tossed the super thick stem which I’ve heard can be bitter. I used five apples because they were tiny. This is surprisingly sweet but the jalepeno adds kick. I used about half the one in the photo. I should have used the whole thing, seriously. It’s that sweet!

Didn’t bother trying it on the husband and child. Steph can’t handle spice and I’m afraid to break trust with Coco and have her reject further offerings out of fear. Too bad for them, more for me.

About divaskychick

Mom, wife, skydiver, rock climber, juicer, crafter and fan of wicked scary zombie novels.
This entry was posted in Daily Juice, Juicing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Your Daily Juice – with Jalepeno

  1. Lauren says:

    Hey Mandy,

    I finally got the itch to go back to juicing and I just made this recipe minus the wheatgrass (because I didn’t have any). It’s really tasty!

    I decided to 1/2 the recipe just in case I didn’t like it. It turned out to be a good thing because instead of a juicer I use the Blendtec Total Blender (like the VitaMix). It turns out that by 1/2ing your recipe I got just over 32oz of juice. Well, since it blends the whole item, I guess I should call it a smoothie. So, that was a good thing. Nevertheless, it’s really yummy!

    Thanks for posting! I really enjoy your blog. I’m eager to try some of your other recipes.

    • divaskychick says:

      Thanks Lauren! I wasn’t sure anyone but my family was reading it!
      I’ve never used a VitaMix or anything like it. It must make your juices very filling if you’re getting all the fiber. Do you or can you remove it if you want to?

  2. Lauren says:

    I guess you could strain it, but I don’t mind the texture so I leave it as is. They say that you get more nutrients (including fiber) this way since none of the fruit/veggie is wasted. Who knows.

    Today I did the same recipe, with some modifications:
    Makes 32oz (in the BlendTec)
    2 Apples (cored)
    2 Stalks Celery
    1/2 Carrot
    1/2 Cucumber
    1 Jalapeno (I like it spicy, so I throw the whole thing in minus the top stem)
    1/2 Avocado (skinned and pitted)
    Handful of Spinach
    Handful of Arugula
    Small Handful of Parsley
    Large Scoop of Whey Protein
    Ice
    I have to add a little bit of water to get the blender going, since none of these items are really juicy…

    I didn’t taste the two versions side by side, but I think I like today’s better. The whey protein added a hint of vanilla taste to it (it is vanilla flavored) and the carrot added a little something nice and fresh. I would probably add a touch more parsley next time, I like the freshness that it adds, but I didn’t really taste it this go round. Also it was a little spicier, which depends mostly on how hot your jalapeno is and how much you add. I usually test the hotness of my jalapeno by tasting a little piece, then I can gauge how much I’m going to use.

    I know it sounds like a lot of different tastes competing, but they actually compliment each other nicely. I wasn’t sure how the whey protein would go with it all, but it turned out to work well. Sometimes I find it to make things chalky, but I didn’t get that this time.

    • divaskychick says:

      Okay, the vanilla flavored whey threw me for a loop but I’ve found all sorts of things I never would have considered putting together do taste good. Like tomatoes and oranges, for example.

      I used to have oatmeal with raisins and a scoop of chocolate protein powder every morning. Tasted much like an oatmeal cookie. Good stuff!

      Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lauren!

Leave a Reply

