Daily Juice and a Raw Challenge

My grocery list for four days. Just kidding!

I made it through six days of juicing.  It really does get easier and easier.  I cheated a little here and there – I had a couple of apples and one night I ate (gasp!) some pasta that Coco didn’t finish for dinner.  Maybe that’s why I didn’t lose the full seven lbs I usually do. And maybe that’s why I have the will to jump right into this next challenge.

Obviously, I’ve been mostly raw for the past week but juicing is easy.  EATING is a challenge in my mind.  I mean, how many celery stalks can you chew?  How much salad can you down before you are begging for a lovely fresh baked loaf of bread to go with it.  And while I love gazpacho, the thought of cold soup when it’s 5 degrees outside is just really unappealing. Stephane went to a raw food restaurant in his early days of dating and was thoroughly unimpressed. He said it was like having a three course meal of dips.

I can tell you right now that I’m not going raw.  I’m not even trying to go raw-ish.  I just want to lose a few more pounds in a healthy way and I want to chew some food for a change.

Let’s call this a transitional period.  I have crossed fowl off my edible list and fish can’t really be far behind.  The horrific treatment even organic, “humane certified” egg layers receive (the male chicks are tossed alive into grinders) just makes my plan of going vegan by year’s end a joyful proposition.

So I’ll be doing a lot of experimental cooking this year and this week is just the start.  Not that there will be any actual cooking ie heating up of food, but it seems there will be lots of food processing.  At least the Cuisinart is easy to clean.

And in case you ever flirted with the idea of eating raw, I’ll break down the meal planning for you.  This is by no means the only way to proceed but sometimes it’s easier to follow someone else’s plan until you really get the hang of something.  So come back Monday for a menu plan, grocery list and the first day’s recipes.

In the meantime, Your Daily Juice:

"It couldn't please me more Than the gift I see A pineapple for me" - Broadway version of Cabaret

Citrus Salad Bar

Juice (in your brand new, super cool, stainless steel Breville if you’re me!)
1/4 Pineapple, rind cut off
4 Oranges, peeled (leave as much white pith as you can)
1/2 Lime (peeled)
1 cup Spinach
1 cup Kale
4 Carrots

Blend with Ice and drink up. Makes LOADS and Stephane has pronounced it “Best Juice EVER.” Think it might have something to do with being made in my beautiful new juicer?  Me too!

About divaskychick

Mom, wife, skydiver, rock climber, juicer, crafter and fan of wicked scary zombie novels.
This entry was posted in Daily Juice, Eating Raw, Juicing, Menu Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

